Webpage of the section LEC0501 of MAT137: "Calculus!" at UofT

Information

Instructor Jean-Baptiste (JB) Campesato
E-Mail campesat [@t) math.toronto.edu
Schedule (Fall term) Monday, 4pm to 5pm
Wednesday, 4pm to 6pm
Room MP202
MAT137 Website http://uoft.me/MAT137

Introduction to mathematical logic, quantifiers, definitions and proofs

Video playlist for this part

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Mon, Sep 10 Introduction --- --- slides - notes about slide 8
Wed, Sep 12 Sets and quantifiers 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 slides - printable
Mon, Sep 17 Conditional statements 1.7, 1.8, 1.9 1.3 slides - printable
Wed, Sep 19 Definitions, proofs and induction 1.10, 1.11, 1.12, 1.13, 1.14, 1.15 1.4 slides - printable

Limits and continuity

Video playlist for this part

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Mon, Sep 24 Absolute value, distance and inequalities 2.4 1.2, 1.8 slides - printable
Wed, Sep 26 Limits 2.1, 2.2, 2.3, 2.5, 2.6 2.1, 2.2 slides - printable
Mon, Oct 1 Proofs using the definition of limits 2.7, 2.8, 2.9 2.2 slides - printable - notes about slide 6
Wed, Oct 3 Limit laws 2.10, 2.11, 2.12, 2.13 2.3 slides - printable - notes about slide 8
Wed, Oct 10 Continuity 2.14, 2.15, 2.16, 2.17, 2.18 2.4 slides - printable
Mon, Oct 15 Some limit computations 2.19, 2.20 2.1, 2.3, 2.4 slides - printable
Wed, Oct 17 (1st part) IVT and EVT 2.21, 2.22 2.5 slides - printable

Derivatives

Video playlist for this part

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Wed, Oct 17 (2nd part) Definition of a derivative 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 3.1 slides - printable
Mon, Oct 22 Differentiation rules 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.7, 3.8, 3.9 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 slides - printable
Wed, Oct 24 The chain rule + more on differentiation rules 3.10 3.5 + 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 slides - printable
Mon, Oct 29 Trig derivatives, implicit differentiation 3.11, 3.12 3.4, 3.7 slides - printable
Wed, Oct 31 Related rates + derivatives of exponentials and logarithms 3.13, 3.14, 3.15, 3.16, 3.17, 3.18, 3.19, 3.20 3.4, 3.6, 3.7, 4.7 slides - printable

You have to watch a lot of videos for Wednesday, Oct 31. Even if they are short, you shouldn't wait for the last time to watch them.

Inverse functions and inverse trigonometric functions

Video playlist for this part

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Mon, Nov 12 Inverse functions 4.1, 4.2 1.5, 1.7 slides - printable
Wed, Nov 14 One-to-one functions and inverse trig functions 4.3, 4.4, 4.5, 4.6, 4.7, 4.8 1.7, 3.5, 3.6 slides - printable

The Mean Value Theorem and applications

Video playlist for this part

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Mon, Nov 19 Local extrema 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4 4.1 slides - printable - notes about slide 4
Wed, Nov 21 Rolle's Theorem and the MVT 5.5, 5.6, 5.7, 5.8, 5.9 4.2 slides - printable - notes about slide 7
Mon, Nov 26 Monotonicity 5.10, 5.11, 5.12 4.3 slides - printable

Applications of the derivative

Video playlist for this part

Warning: I modified the order of the two first lectures.

Date Topics Required videos Textbook sections Lecture slides
Wed, Nov 28 Indeterminate forms and L'Hôpital's Rule (6.3), 6.4, 6.5, (6.6), 6.7, 6.8, (6.9), 6.10 4.4, 4.5, 4.6 slides - printable
Mon, Dec 3 Applied optimization 6.1, 6.2 4.8 slides - printable
Wed, Dec 5 Concavity and asymptotes 6.11, 6.12, 6.13, 6.14, 6.15, 6.16 2.1, 4.9 slides
Thu, Dec 6
Thanksgiving make up
Curve sketching 4.9 slides - printable



Niagara Falls