Tournament of Towns in Toronto
Tournament of Towns: Mission

Table of Contents: Regulations of the Tournament:

The Tournament is held each year in two rounds - Spring and Fall. Students and their towns can take part in either round or both, taking local conditions into consideration. Thus Moscow organizers conduct only the Fall round because there are too many Olympiads in the spring. If a certain town participates in both rounds, a student in this town has the right of choosing to take part in only one of them. This does not prevent the student from achieving a good result because the student's score for the Tournament is the maximum (and not the sum) of the scores in the two rounds.

Each round has two levels - O-Level (training) and A-Level (main). They are scheduled approximately one week apart. Here, students have the right of choice as well. They may attempt either level or both. The score for the round is the maximum (not the sum) of the scores in the two levels. The questions in the O-level are less complicated and are accessible to the beginners. However, students are awarded less points for solving these questions. Nevertheless students can get enough points to win Diplomas if they solve the hardest three problems of the O-level. Questions in the A-level are more complicated. The most difficult of them are often solved only by a few participants. A beginner probably has no chance of obtaining any points from these questions. On the other hand, an exceptional student is sometimes awarded for them two or three times as many points as the questions in the O-level.

Students who exceed a certain minimum score are awarded a Diploma from the Russian Academy of Sciences. A town's score is based on the average of their best N students where N is the quotient when the town population is divided by one hundred thousand (rounded up). If a town's population is less than 500,000, N is then taken to be 5, but the town score is multiplied by a handicap factor.

   Toronto HQ



Tournament of the Towns is held in Toronto since 1996.
© 2001—2020 by Department of Mathematics, University of Toronto.