Topology of Algebraic Varieties

This is a learning seminar on the topology of algebraic varieties.  We will cover Lefschetz theory, intersection homology, perverse sheaves, and applications to representation theory.

More information on this seminar series can be found at the following link:

http://wiki.math.toronto.edu/TorontoMathWiki/index.php/Topology_of_Algebraic_Varieties_Learning_Seminar

Details

Cohomology of families of smooth projective varieties

by Stephen Morgan  (www) | University of Toronto
Time: 09:30  (Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2010)
Location: BA6180, 40 St. George St
Abstract:
A family of smooth projective varieties is a smooth projective map. The cohomology of the fibres of this map carry a representation of the fundamental group of the base -- this is called the monodromy of the family. We will define this monodromy representation and explain the relationship between the cohomology of the total space and the cohomology of these local systems on the base.

Dates in this series

· Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2010: Cohomology of families of smooth projective varieties (Stephen Morgan)
· Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2010: Intersection Homology Theory (Mikhail Mazin)
· Tuesday, Feb. 02, 2010: Intersection homology (continued) (Mikhail Mazin)
· Tuesday, Feb. 09, 2010: Sheaf Cohomology, Derived and Triangulated Categories (Arthur Huang)
· Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2010: Sheaf Cohomology, Derived and Triangulated Categories (Continued) and IC-Sheaves (Arthur Huang/Omar Antolín Camarena)
· Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2010: IC-sheaves and Perverse Sheaves (Omar Antolín Camarena)
· Tuesday, Mar. 09, 2010: Perverse Sheaves and Decomposition theorem I (Omar Antolín Camarena and Chris Brav)
· Tuesday, Mar. 16, 2010: Applications of the decomposition theorem (Chris Brav)
· Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2010: Semismall maps and Springer theory (Sergey Arkhipov)
· Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2010: Semismall maps and Springer theory - Part II (Sergey Arkhipov)
· Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2010: Kazhdan-Lusztig polynomials (Brad Hannigan-Daley)
· Thursday, Apr. 15, 2010: The Geometric Satake Correspondence (Bruce Fontaine)
· Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2010: The Riemann-Hilbert Correspondence (Daniel Rowe)