WWU -- SFB 478
Geometric Structures in Mathematics  

Workshop on curvature and Global shape

  • July 29-August 4, 2007

Organizing Committee:
Vitali Kapovitch,  University of Toronto
Burkhard Wilking,
University of Münster
Wolfgang Ziller,
University of Pennsylvania

The purpose of the meeting is to study relashionships between local and global invariants in Riemannian Geometry. Our intention is to bring together experts in the field as well as young mathematicians.  The program of the Workshop is structured so that beyond the lectures, there will be many opportunities for intensive discussions.

Unfortunately, only limited support is available for invited speakers. We hope that many participants can find support from their own university. The registration deadline is July 1, 2007.
People who register after that date will be considered for reimbursement only in exceptional cases.

The math building is located at the Coesfelder Kreuz Einsteinstrasse 62 (bldg. #26 on the downloadable map). It is the tall building with 9 floors.
All participants should register at Room 414 in that building. People can also get computer access there.

All lectures will take place in the '' Kleiner Hörsaal'' of the
''Institut für Pharmazeutische und Medizinische Chemie'' (Hittorfstr. 58)
which is across the street (Einsteinstrasse) of the math building   (2 min walk).
The coffee break in the morning will be  in the ground floor of the math building.
The coffee break in the afternoon will take place in the ''Schlossgartenrestaurant''.
(about 7 min walk  from the lecture room to the center of the Schlosspark).

The party will take place at Bohlweg 10 (Tel. ++49   (0) 251/  4902785) , there  is no charge and  registration is not required.

For the party as well as the bicycle tour accompaning persons are welcome to attend.
People who want to participate in the tour  and need a bicycle  should  let us know  if they have not  done so. A modest charge will apply.

Current (as of 07/19/07) list of confirmed participants:
B. Alexandrov (Köln), W. Ballmann (Bonn),  C. Böhm (Münster),  V. Bonini (McMaster),  S. Brendle (Stanford), D. Burago (Penn State), A. Dessai (Fribourg), J. Eschenburg (Augsburg),  L. Guth (Stanford), G. Guzhvina (Münster),  C. Hoelscher (U Penn),  J.-M. Iniotakis (Münster),  M. Kerin (U Penn), L. Kramer (Münster), N. Lebedeva (Münster),  J. Lohkamp (Münster),  A. Lytchak (Bonn),  F. Magata (Münster),
V. Matveev (Jena), W. Meyer (Münster), A. Nabutovsky (Toronto), L. Ni (San Diego), A. Petrunin (Münster), N. Peyerimhoff (Durham,UK),  T. Püttmann (Bonn),  F. Reidegeld (Dortmund),  M. Röer (Fribourg), R. Rotman (Toronto),  E. Samiou (Nicosia, Cyprus),  V. Schroeder (Zürich),  C. Searle (Cuernavaca, Mexico), U. Semmelmann (Köln) , R. Shankar (Oklahoma), G. Thorbergsson (Köln),
 F. Wilhelm (Riverside), M. Wiemeler (Fribourg), G. Weingart (Cuernavaca), A. Wienhard (Chicago), 
J. Wong (Toronto), D. Wraith (Maynooth), W. Wylie (UCLA).