MAT 137: Calculus!
Slides from Alfonso's lectures (L0101 and L0201)

I will post here any slides that I use in class, soon after each class. Notice that this only contains the slides, not a summary of the lectures.

  1. Intro to logic, quantifers, definitions, and proofs

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture
    Fri, 8 Sep Introduction --- slides
    Mon, 11 Sep Sets 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 slides
    Wed, 13 Sep Quantifiers 1.4, 1.5, 1.6 slides
    Fri, 15 Sep Conditionals 1.7, 1.8, 1.9 slides
    Mon, 18 Sep Definitions and proofs 1.10, 1.11, 1.12, 1.13 slides
    Wed, 20 Sep Induction 1.14, 1.15 slides


  2. Limits and continuity

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture Textbook sections this corresponds to
    Fri, 22 Sep Inequalities and absolute values 2.4 slides 1.3
    Mon, 25 Sep The intuitive idea of limit 2.1, 2.2, 2.3 slides 2.1
    Wed, 27 Sep The definitions of limit 2.5, 2.6 slides 2.2
    Fri, 29 Sep More on the definitions of limit 2.7, 2.8 slides 2.2
    Mon, 2 Oct The limit laws 2.9, 2.10 slides 2.3
    Wed, 4 Oct More proof with limits, continuity 2.11, 2.12, 2.13 slides 2.5, 2.4
    Fri, 6 Oct More continuity 2.14, 2.15, 2.16 slides 2.4
    Wed, 11 Oct Trig limits and computations 2.17, 2.18 slides 2.5
    Fri, 13 Oct IVT and EVT 2.19, 2.20 slides 2.6


  3. Derivatives

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture Textbook sections this corresponds to
    Mon, 16 Oct Definition of derivative 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 slides 3.1, 3.3, 3.4
    Wed, 18 Oct Differentiation rules 3.4, 3.5, 3.8 slides 3.2, 3.3
    Fri, 20 Oct Proof of differentiation rules 3.6, 3.7, 3.9 slides 3.2, 3.3
    Mon, 23 Oct Chain rule 3.10 slides 3.5
    Wed, 25 Oct Trig derivatives and implicit differentiation 3.11, 3.12 slides 3.6, 3.7
    Fri, 27 Oct Exponentials and logarithms 3.13 to 3.18 slides ---


  4. Inverse functions and inverse trigonometric functions

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture Textbook sections this corresponds to
    Mon, 30 Oct Inverse functions 4.1, 4.2 slides 7.1 (partially)
    Wed, 1 Nov One-to-one functions 4.3, 4.4, 4.5 slides 7.1 (partially)
    Fri, 3 Nov Inverse trigonometric functions 4.6, 4.7, 4.8 slides 7.7


  5. The Mean Value Theorem and applications

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture Textbook sections this corresponds to
    Mon, 13 Nov Related rates --- slides 4.10
    Wed, 15 Nov Local extrema 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4 slides 4.3, 4.4
    Fri, 17 Nov Rolle's Theorem 5.5, 5.6 slides 4.1
    Mon, 20 Nov MVT 5.7, 5.8, 5.9 slides 4.1
    Wed, 22 Nov Increasing and decreasing functions 5.10, 5.11, 5.12 slides 4.2, 4.4
    Fri, 24 Nov Applied optimization problems --- slides 4.5


  6. Applications of the derivative. (From Mon 27 Nov to Thu 7 Dec)

    There won't be videos for this part.

    These two weeks will be taught by Qin Deng, who also teaches LEC 0501. Follow details of his lectures on his section website.

  7. The definition of integral

    Date Topics Videos to watch before lecture Slides used in lecture Textbook sections this corresponds to
    Fri, 5 Jan Sums and sigmas 7.1, 7.2 Will be posted after lecture 12.1
    Mon, 8 Jan Suprema and infima 7.3, 7.4 Will be posted after lecture 11.1
    Wed, 10 Jan Integrable functions 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 7.9 Will be posted after lecture ---
    Fri, 12 Jan Riemann sums 7.10, 7.11 Will be posted after lecture 5.2