MAT137 - L0701 - 2018/19

This is the homepage for MAT137 L0701 (Ivan's section) for the 2018/19 academic year.
Please check this page regularly for the videos you are expected to watch before each lecture.

FIRST TERM

Videos for the next lecture: None, but make sure you've watched 6.11 onwards.

WEEK 1

  • Tuesday, September 11
    • Topics: Introduction, sets, quantifiers
    • Videos: 1.1 through 1.3
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, September 12
    • Topics: Quantifiers
    • Videos: 1.4 through 1.6
    • Slides

WEEK 2

  • Tuesday, September 18
    • Topics: Conditionals, definitions, proofs
    • Videos: 1.7 through 1.13
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, September 19
    • Topics: More on definitions and proofs.
    • Videos: 1.14 through 1.15
    • Slides

WEEK 3

  • Tuesday, September 25
    • Topics: Absolute values, and the intuitive idea of a limit
    • Videos: 2.1 through 2.4
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, September 26
    • Topics: The formal definition of a limit
    • Videos: 2.5 through 2.6
    • Slides

WEEK 4

  • Tuesday, October 2
    • Topics: Proofs with the definition of a limit, and limit laws
    • Videos: 2.7 through 2.11
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, October 3
    • Topics: The squeeze theorem, and more proofs
    • Videos: 2.12 through 2.13
    • Slides

WEEK 5

  • Tuesday, October 9
    • Topics: Continuity
    • Videos: 2.14 through 2.18
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, October 10
    • Topics: More on continuity
    • Videos: 2.19 through 2.20
    • Slides

WEEK 6

  • Tuesday, October 16
    • Topics: IVT, EVT, and starting on derivatives
    • Videos: 2.21 through 2.22, and 3.1 through 3.3
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, October 17
    • Topics: Derivatives
    • Videos: 3.4, 3.5, and 3.8
    • Slides

WEEK 7

  • Tuesday, October 23
    • Topics: Differentiation rules
    • Videos: 3.6, 3.7, 3.9, and 3.10
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, October 24
    • Topics: The chain rule and trig derivatives
    • Videos: 3.10 through 3.12.
    • Slides

WEEK 8

  • Tuesday, October 30
    • Topics: Implicit differentiation, exponentials and logarithms, and some related rates.
    • Videos: 3.12 through 3.20
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, October 31
    • Topics: Inverse functions
    • Videos: 4.1 and 4.2.
    • Slides

WEEK 9

  • Tuesday, November 13
    • Topics: Inverse functions
    • Videos: 4.3 through 4.8
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, November 14
    • Topics: Local extreme values
    • Videos: 5.1 through 5.4
    • Slides

WEEK 10

  • Tuesday, November 20
    • Topics: Rolle's Theorem and the MVT.
    • Videos: 5.5 through 5.9
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, November 21
    • Topics: Monotonicity
    • Videos: 5.10 through 5.12
    • Slides

WEEK 11

  • Tuesday, November 27
    • Topics: More on MVT, optimization, and l'Hopital's rule
    • Videos: 6.1 through 6.7
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, November 28
    • Topics: More on l'Hopital's Rule
    • Videos: 6.8 through 6.10
    • Slides

WEEK 12

  • Tuesday, December 4
    • Topics: Concavity, asymptotes, and curve sketching
    • Videos: 6.11 onwards.
    • Slides
  • Wednesday, December 5
    • Topics: More curve sketching
    • Videos: None (but make sure to watch the ones from last class)
    • Slides will go here.

SECOND TERM

Week 1

  • Tuesday, January ...
    • Topics:
    • Videos:
    • Slides will go here
  • Wednesday, January ...
    • Topics:
    • Videos:
    • Slides will go here

Week 2

  • Tuesday, January1 ...
    • Topics:
    • Videos:
    • Slides will go here
  • Wednesday, January ...
    • Topics:
    • Videos:
    • Slides will go here